Sarah Hill's Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Photolusion June 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah Hill @ 5:32 pm

Strongest man in the World – 24 May 2010, Southfield MI.  f/5.6, 1/160, Handheld, Nikon Coolpix P80, Adjusted black and white levels.

I had my nephew stand a few feet in from of this tree (notice the shadows and how far he actually is from the tree) and put his hands out.  I like how it looks like he is pushing the tree over.  I like it.  I first saw something like this done in slides of my grandpa.  There were pictures of him visiting those huge trees in California, and to make the trees look smaller he stood several feet in front of them and put his arm out like he was leaning on them.  I guess you could say that this is a slight homage to my grandfather!!

Emily – 27 May 2010, 4:55 PM, Rexburg, ID. f/4, 10/3200, Sony DSC-HX1, handheld, no edits.

Fairy Wings – 20 June 2010, 1:00 AM, Rexburg, ID.  f/3.5, 10/20000, handheld, no edits, Sony DSC-HX1

I edited this picture together in Photoshop, and when I showed it to my roommate she wanted to be a full-out fairy, so she had me re-take her photo and re-edit it all together.

Fairy Magic – 21 June 2010, 9:28 PM, f/2.5, 10/150, handheld, I changed her eye color, cleared up her skin, and thickened her bottom lip a bit.

I got this photo from the internet so I don’t have any photo info.

The hardest part was the wings – I had to play around with how they would look realistic, but so they weren’t covering her face.  I lowered their opacity to 60% so you could slightly see through them, and changed the angles and sizes of both of them.  I really enjoy this assignment.  Editing things together in Photoshop like this is one of my favorite things!!

 

3 Responses to “Photolusion”

  1. Jace Richards Says:

    You did a great job with the cutouts for the photolusion merge. Very creative work, I love it!

  2. Amber Spencer Says:

    These photolusion photos are really great! I like how you edited the two together in order to really get the desired effect that you wanted. Great job!

  3. Jamie Says:

    The fairy turned out so cool! It is so cute. You did a great job blending the photos together.


Leave a Reply

